The Classic East

ca33c9825b.jpg

Saturday, July 29, 2017

My sister and I attended this event because we love Fleetwood Mac. And the Eagles are legendary too. The seats were ok (section 529, 9th row), but we knew they would be since we went for the cheap seats. Our seats were in Left Field and we had a side view of the stage. The view of the screens were bad, and for some reason Citi Field didn’t also project the concert on the jumbo-trons they use for they use for the baseball games. There were people there almost behind the stage without a view of the screens. The second day we brought binoculars, which was a big help.

Dobbie Brothers were good. I knew more songs than I thought I did. I knew about 5 of them.  Set list.

I didn’t mind missing the first 20 minutes of Steely Dan to stand on the queue for the merchandise. The merch was on the 100 level. So we went down to that level and waited in a crowded, disorganized queue for 35 minutes. I bought 2 shirts. One in grey with pink lettering of the Classic East info. The other a dark grey Fleetwood Mac shirt of them in the 1970s.

Steely Dan Setlist. I only knew one song of theirs. Can’t remember the title.

With my t-shirts bought I was NOT missing the Eagles. They were fantastic. They played for 2 and a half hours. I think there were only 3 songs I was not familiar with. Glenn Fry’s son Deacon did a phenomenal job in his dad’s shoes. Also was a nice surprise to see Vince Gill.

There was one change from the Classic West setlist from two weeks ago. Don Henley appropriately sang “New York Minute”.

1. Seven Bridges Road (Steve Young cover)
2. Take It Easy (Deacon Frey on lead vocals)
3. One of These Nights
4. Take It to the Limit (Vince Gill on lead vocals)
5. Tequila Sunrise (Vince Gill on lead vocals)
6. Witchy Woman
7. I Can’t Tell You Why
8. Lyin’ Eyes (Vince Gill on lead vocals)
9. New York Minute (Don Henley song) (first time since 2002)
10. Those Shoes
11. Peaceful Easy Feeling (Deacon Frey on lead vocals)
12. Best of My Love
13. Love Will Keep Us Alive
14. New Kid in Town (Vince Gill on lead vocals)
15. The Last Resort
16. Already Gone (Deacon Frey on lead vocals)
17. In the City (Joe Walsh song)
18. Heartache Tonight
19. Life’s Been Good(Joe Walsh song)
20. Funk #49 (James Gang cover)
21. Life in the Fast Lane

Encore:
22. Hotel California

Encore 2:
23. Rocky Mountain Way (Joe Walsh song)
24. Desperado

Sunday, July 30, 2017
Earth, Wind & Fire. I loved their sequined costumes. Was not hard to see them from our seats. They still how to get down with their bad selves.

Journey . Reliving my 1980s childhood. I ❤ Journey. At one point during  Neal Schon’s guitar solo he played “Amazing Grace” which I liked.

The best for last. I was so happy I wanted to cry. I was teary eyed during “Landslide” (I actually cried when I saw Stevie Nicks at MSG back in December) and I had to get up and dance/sway during “Little Lies” and “Gold Dust Woman”.

They ended with Don’t Stop and fireworks went off!

God, I hope Fleetwood Mac tour in 2018. I plan to splurge on the good seats at a couple of shows.

Fleetwood Mac Setlist

1. The Chain
2. You Make Loving Fun
3. Dreams
4. Second Hand News
5. Rhiannon
6. Everywhere
7. Bleed to Love Her
8. Tusk
9. Sara
10. Say You Love Me
11. Big Love
12. Landslide
13. Never Going Back Again
14. Think About Me
15. Gypsy
16. Little Lies
17. Gold Dust Woman
18. I’m So Afraid
19. Go Your Own Way

Encore:
20. Don’t Stop (followed by fireworks)

Did I mention I reliving last night right now by watching Fleetwood Mac online? Someone streamed the whole performance on their periscope. Yay for the internet!

Leave a Reply

