Nemesis (Project Nemesis 1) by Brendan Reichs

30142139.jpg

He killed me. He killed me not. He killed me.

It’s been happening since Min was eight. Every two years, on her birthday, a strange man finds her and murders her in cold blood. But hours later, she wakes up in a clearing just outside her tiny Idaho hometown—alone, unhurt, and with all evidence of the horrifying crime erased.

Across the valley, Noah just wants to be like everyone else. But he’s not. Nightmares of murder and death plague him, though he does his best to hide the signs. But when the world around him begins to spiral toward panic and destruction, Noah discovers that people have been lying to him his whole life. Everything changes in an eye blink.

For the planet has a bigger problem. The Anvil, an enormous asteroid threatening all life on Earth, leaves little room for two troubled teens. Yet on her sixteenth birthday, as she cowers in her bedroom, hoping not to die for the fifth time, Min has had enough. She vows to discover what is happening in Fire Lake and uncovers a lifetime of lies: a vast conspiracy involving the sixty-four students of her sophomore class, one that may be even more sinister than the murders.

 

I got an ARC from NYCC 2016.

I enjoyed this book because it was a quick page turner. I just had to know what exactly was going on and if my suspicions were correct. The suspense pushed me to speed through.

I didn’t see the explanation coming but I don’t think my theory was that far off. There are still some questions that need answers. I’m sure it’s being saved for book 2.

I liked Min a lot. She was a fighter. Noah was annoying at times but the build up of his character makes sense in the end. What I felt had no foundation was the attraction between them. I was glad that the love triangle (I guess they are obligatory in YA novels) was minor and not the focus.

The bullies/popular kids were mainly one dimensional but I understood the motivations when I guessed correctly about two of them.

Sometimes the dialogue was repetitive when the three main characters were searching for answers or were discussing theories.

These critiques are not deal breakers. I found it to be an engaging story. The set up was exciting and reveal left me wanting to know some answers.

I am looking forward to Phase 2. Goodreads says Genesis comes out in March 2018.

4 out of 5 Resets.

Some of my thoughts. Beware: Spoilers!

I thought maybe they were like Cylons, being reborn without markings of their deaths but still have their memories intact. That theory may not be far off for the betas pre-apocalypse. Or maybe the betas were holograms? No, Cylons make more sense. Post-apocalypse is very much Lord of the Flies meets The Matrix.

-The Nemesis star being called the “death star” made me laugh.

-What is the significance of the betas all having the same birthday? As well as their DNA making them suitable candidates?

-What is the final plan? Will their Matrix one day be uploaded into new bodies when the world is safe again? What and how is the program sustaining them in a post-apocalyptic world? How long can it run? It explains why there were no animals. That would take up too much memory.

 

One thought on “Nemesis (Project Nemesis 1) by Brendan Reichs

  1. Pingback: New York Comic Con 2016 – Sunday, October 9 | Stephanie

Leave a Reply

