New York Comic Con 2015 – Friday, October 9

My sister and I didn’t have a panel to see till Elementary in the afternoon. We wandered the Exhibit Hall and checked out Artist’s Alley.

I also did this at Star Wars Celebration back in April. This time I recored the scene when Tarkin gives the order to destroy Alderaan. The scenes was much shorter than ones given at Celebration. Made it easier, but it was still difficult. I did have to pause and start again a few times. Need to figure out a way to upload my Celebration recording.

IMG_7131

Bought these necklaces from The Colorful Geek. The Weeping Angel is double sided.

IMG_7174 IMG_7176

I also bought this from Superhero Stuff for when I go see TFA.

IMG_7182

Books I picked up and one I bought.

IMG_7173 IMG_7171

City of Stairs and City of Blades were free giveaways and there was a long queue to have the author sign them. I was on the queue for 5-10 minutes when I realized that the line looped around and was much longer than I thought. Not wanting to be late for the Elementary panel I left before the books were signed but I kept them anyway.
The Rose Society is just a chapter sampler.

Sentinels Anthology Volume 2 I bought in Artist’s Alley from Rich Bernatovech’s table. I had seen on Facebook that Vol 2 would be on sale at NYCC and since I liked the previous story I wanted to get it.

Rich is really nice and we spoke a bit about the new Anthology and the artists’ spotlights on Drumfish Production’s Facebook page.

My sister and I also bought some of his artwork. I bought sketches of Han, Leia and Luke. Victoria bought one of Maleficent.

IMG_7177

Everyday at noon the Del Rey booth had Star Wars trivia for a chance to win a free book. My question was: What is the name of the Queen of Naboo at the end of the Clone Wars? I got it right when I answered Queen Apailana. The woman at Del Rey was impressed and I said I read many of the EU books and I write fan fiction (lol). My prize was the Character Encyclopedia.

The other two books were a scan your badge for this giveaway. I love giveaways.

Walking to Artist’s Alley we saw this Jelly Belly art. And we took samples to snack on. Obviously packaged ones.

IMG_7165IMG_7166

In addition to the Rich Bernatovech purchases we also bought some art from Karen Hallion. Victoria bought another Maleficent. I bought these.

IMG_7179 IMG_7180

This year NYCC did something new by expanding and some panels were held at Hammerstein Ballroom. I liked it there. It was big and had balconies. Not so good if you have to run between Hammerstein and Javits between panels or sacrifice one for the other, but I had no issue this year. We got a good spot about 10 rows back for Elementary.

IMG_7143 IMG_7146 IMG_7151 IMG_7152

Entertainment Weekly did a good write-up about the panel. I’ll just quote a few from them and then add my own thoughts.

1. Sherlock could presumably relapse again. At the end of the third season, Sherlock (Miller) hit rock bottom, ending his sobriety and assaulting another man. It might not be a one-time thing, Miller said. “A problem like that doesn’t ever go away in someone’s life,” he explained. “Drug addiction is something that can be handled … but the problem itself isn’t ever going to go away. It’s a storyline you can always go back to … It’s not a huge nemesis that is dealt with and then done with.”

I like how they don’t sugar coat drug addiction. This is how it is in real life and that is how it should be handled on any show.

There was also a part where they discussed Sherlock’s character of being difficult to get along with and how he is often portrayed as if because he is so smart he feels superior to everyone else. JLM said when read the stories by Arthur Conan Doyle he was surprised to find out that Sherlock was much more of a people person than usually portrayed. He would put post-it notes for pages he found interesting.

3. John Noble joins the cast as Sherlock’s enigmatic, estranged father Morland Holmes, and that will introduce plenty of tension between the trio. Noble first thanked the crowd when they cheered him on for joining the show, then spoke of the way Morland parented Sherlock. “It’s not so uncommon that a genius child is eccentric, you know?” he said, waving his hand in Miller’s direction. Miller, for his part, revealed Sherlock will be having a tougher time than Morland at accepting their reunion. “It’s interesting just having [Sherlock] be annoyed and flustered,” he said to laughter from the crowd. “I think he’s expecting more reaction to his disdain for his father … but it doesn’t go anywhere for him, Morland never really takes the bait, so he’s pretty frustrated.”

I am excited to see this.

5. Doherty has asked Natalie Dormer to return to the show. Dormer played fan-favorite Moriarty, the former lover and nemesis to Sherlock, who once believed she was dead. Of course, the actress is quite busy, with both Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games to handle, as well as a film she’s writing and producing, according to Doherty, which is why they haven’t locked down Dormer for a future episode but hopes to have her return. “Natalie has proven to be as elusive as Moriarty,” Doherty joked. “Actually, we had the opportunity to talk a few weeks ago, to discuss a few possible scenarios for a return… but it presents obviously some logistical problems for us. But we’ll stay in touch and see what we can cook up.” Added Miller: “We shoot this show all year anyway, so when [Dormer] stops working, we’ll still be working.” Hey, there’s still hope!

See, now, Natalie told me “YES!” when I asked her. She said she could not specify but that she will return. I think Doherty was being cryptic on purpose.

They also brought up the possibility of Kitty, Ms. Hudson, and Mycroft returning. Kitty is the same issue of depending on Ophelia Lovibond’s availability. I think she should come back or check in on Sherlock now that he has relapsed.

During the Q&A someone thanked the show for the diversity, specifically Ms. Hudson (Candis Cayne) being transgender. I like her and hope she returns as well.

Mycroft would be fun to see him again now that Papa Holmes is in NYC.

I also wish they talked about other side characters like Detective Marcus Bell, Alfredo, and Captain Thomas Gregson and what is in store for them this season. Alfredo played a roll in the finale and we should see how he is coping with that.

6. Lucy Liu will direct an episode this season. Liu has been making her way into directing over the past few years, and she’ll continue to do so with Elementary later this year, for episode 22. “It’s a wonderful thing to see someone begin to fulfill their dreams and ambitions and progress,” Miller said of having Liu direct him in scenes, explaining that Liu’s background in acting helps her understand his and the other actors’ mindsets. “The care that she takes over that aspect of it … is very important to Lucy.” 

That sounds like it’s the season finale, episode 22.

7. John Noble just gets estranged father characters. When a fan asked Noble how he managed to portray estranged fathers so well in his career (Noble previously played Walter Bishop on Fringe and Denethor in Lord of the Rings), Noble laughed. “I guess the question is, what prepared me for the first one [in film]?” he said. “I’m not estranged from my children but there’s something deep within me for that … Fundamentally underneath, there is hopefully an unconditional love that will surface by the end.” He also spoke about how often he disquieted strangers because of his signature imposing look. “I get in trouble for staring at people,” Noble said. “I’ll be sitting in a restaurant with my wife and get completely tuned in to a conversation on the other side of the restaurant.”

8. Jonny Lee Miller thinks his acting has gotten better since Hackers. A fan asked Miller what he’s learned since starring in the 1995 film, and luckily, the actor has just gone to a 20th anniversary celebration of the drama and rewatched his performance. “Hopefully, I’m just better than I was then,” he told a roaring audience.

LOL to both of those. JLM is certainly better, which perfectly leads me to one of my most favorite scenes in the show:

9. Miller’s favorite scene to shoot was the one in which he discovered Irene/Moriarty was still alive; Liu’s was when Watson revealed her father was schizophrenic. “That was sort of the most intense feeling, because I have no experience of finding out someone I thought was dead is alive,” Miller said. “Usually it’s something you can plug in from your own life, but that was really intense for me.” Similarly, Liu said she had no idea what to do with the script that called for her to reflect on Watson’s schizophrenic and homeless father, but worried more about how to convey the drama to the audience. “It isn’t so much that I didn’t have a reference point,” she explained. “It was more that you have to tell the audience because they don’t know anything about it and you’re telling someone about it to make sure that you are connected to it and at the same time, you’re not hysterical.”

I still remember Sherlock’s reaction. It was so intense. Like he took a step back and was just speechless. Both JLM and Lucy should have been nominated for Emmy’s that season.

Lucy also added that she wanted to play the scene where you know she was in pain but not being overly emotional. She used this as an example: it’s like when you are telling a friend something that is very difficult and hurtful that happened to you. You’re in pain even though you’re not crying and your friend knows this. So they cry for you because they hate seeing you in pain. That’s how she wanted to play it. Where the audience was emotional for her.

I sure hope that since Lucy brought up Joan’s father that they plan to bring him on this season and explore that part of Joan’s history.

They also gave out these little stick figures of Clyde the turtle. If you took a selfie with it and tagged Elementary they would feature some photos on their social media pages.

After the panel Lucy signed some articles for fans. Vic and I went up to the stage but this one guy would not leave after getting his autograph. Lucy even said that she signed for him already and then she had to go. Greedy jerk. If he just moved then we could have been the last of the autographs.

In the late afternoon as we left Javits we got caught in the rain walking to the hotel. Yes, the weather said thunder showers but I thought it would be much later in the evening. What started as a drizzle became a downpour and even my umbrella would have been useless. I managed to keep my books and the artwork dry. My sneakers were soaked and I only brought that one pair. Wet shoes are a miserable thing so I went and bought new sneakers at Payless later that night.

I wish we just stayed at Javits and went to another panel. Never again will I leave when it’s “just a drizzle.”

 

Leave a Reply

