The Drafter (The Peri Reed Chronicles, #1) by Kim Harrison

IMG_5648

Detroit 2030. Double-crossed by the person she loved and betrayed by the covert government organization that trained her to use her body as a weapon, Peri Reed is a renegade on the run.

Don’t forgive and never forget has always been Peri’s creed. But her day job makes it difficult: she is a drafter, possessed of a rare, invaluable skill for altering time, yet destined to forget both the history she changed and the history she rewrote.

When Peri discovers her name on a list of corrupt operatives, she realizes that her own life has been manipulated by the agency. She joins forces with a mysterious rogue soldier in a deadly race to piece together the truth about her final task, unable to trust even herself.

This is one of the ARC’s I picked up at Book Con.

I started this book on August 27th. As of today, October 18, I give up. I only got halfway through and am so unmotivated to finish.

I feel bad saying this because the story sounds like it should be awesome. I was thinking it would be like a female protaganist Jason Bourne thriller.

Unfortunately I was bored. Everything moves so slow and not much of the plot develops. It is very repetitive and the action is not very enticing.

Even though I have been very busy lately (a vacation, work, NYCC, getting over a cold) a thriller like this should have me stay up at night turning the page and saying, “just one more chapter.” Instead whenever I had some downtime to read I would grunt in agony that I was still not finished.

1 out of 5 TL;DR

Leave a Reply

