New York Comic Con 2014 – Saturday, October 11

Started out the day by first going to Stephen Amell’s autographing table. He’s really nice and as gorgeous in person as on TV. I really didn’t say anything awe inspiring. In fact I made a joke that I was repeating what the woman ahead of me already said (as well as hundreds of other people) that I loved the Season 2 finale fight between Arrow and Slade. The choreography and the editing was edge-of-your-seat thrilling. Stephen said it’s a fan favorite and that he wishes they put a “making of” feature on the DVD. I hinted that they can do so for a special edition box set.

As I was talking to Stephen, the volunteers or security pointed out to my sister that the man with the baseball cap standing behind Stephen was Colin Donnell (Tommy Merlyn). More about him later.

Today I wore most comfortable cosplay ever – a Hogwarts student uniform. I wore my Hufflepuff tie and pullover sweater with a black skirt, stockings and shoes. I brought Hermione’s wand with me. I have another that I bought at Universal Orlando, but Hermione’s is the prettiest.
My sister and I also participated in NY Harry Potter Meet Up group’s photoshoot. It was a lot of fun. We posed in different group shots: as a whole, different houses, humor battle scenes, etc.

After the Harry Potter photoshoot we got some snacks and went to the queue for the Empire Stage. My friend, Nikki, was already inside and had been most of the day. She worked her way up to the front row. My sister and I got into the room during the panel right before Stephen’s. It was for a show called Powers and honestly the only thing about that got my attention was that Eddie Izzard was there.

Stephen Amell Spotlight
Saturday, October 11|4:30-5:30|Empire Stage


All thanks to Nikki, we got front row seats. 😀 I got some awesome photos and at some points made eye contact with Stephen.

So this was the weekend right after the season 3 premiere aired. Stephen said the first thing he asked the producers after he read the script was, “Are you sure?” Sara was a well developed character and Caity Lotz will be missed. 😦

Coming up there will be crossover episodes with The Flash. 1×08 of The Flash is called “Flash vs Arrow”. Stephen joked it should be reversed, purely for alphabetical reasons. 3×08 of Arrow is called “Brave and the Bold”.

Most of the panel consisted of questions from the audience.

When asked about what pranks John Barrowman has done on set Stephen said that when filming “Sacrifice” he was all chained up and wet. On the first take John gave him a purple nurple. *cringes* Ouch.

Stephen is dedicated and enthusiastic about Arrow. For Oliver and Felicity’s first date when he mentions she was chewing her pen, Stephen re-watched 1×03 for accuracy.

He also recalls other details and made suggestions. In the pilot Oliver easily breaks out of zip tie cuffs. When he is tied up by Slade during Moira’s murder, Stephen said they better really do it like Christian Grey bondage. LOL. Well, it wasn’t quite like that but he was bound up enough not to escape.

For the fall finale coming up Oilver fights two people while shirtless. There is something to look forward to. 🙂

On a less shallow note, Stephen did say that filming Moira’s death was the most difficult – emotionally.

This was such a funny question. Someone asked in the context of the show where do they get their superhero costumes? Is there a store? Do they know how to sew?
Stephen was silent for a moment, which ensued laughter from us, then said it’s “better left unexamined.” This then started a reoccurring question of where is Diggle’s costume?

Speaking of Diggle, he’s not a character from the DC comics. He’s an homage to Andy Diggle who wrote for the Green Arrow comic books.

When asked about other DC characters coming on, like Nightwing and Harley Quinn, they are restricted with Gotham being on TV. Instead of bringing in the big guns from DC, they’ll bring the niche characters. 

IMG_4725 IMG_4729

Which character does Stephen miss? Tommy. Which is when Stephen introduced Colin Donnell. (Not a surprise for my sister and I.)
They mentioned Tommy would be appearing in the next episode in a flashback. He is also on Showtime’s The Affair

IMG_4732 IMG_4737

To sum it all up, I had so much fun at this panel and I’ve become a bigger fan of Stephen Amell. 🙂

Star Wars: Rebels
Saturday, October 11|5:30-6:30|Empire Stage

I am still upset Disney cancelled The Clone Wars for Rebels. 😦
Being in the front row, having no other conflicts, and Star Wars still being my biggest fandom, we stayed.

They showed us the episode where the Inquisitor lures the rebels to a prison using Master Luminara as bait.
The show is good, but I am not a fan of the animation. It is too rounded and so the characters look like toys rather than people.

I did get to know more about Vanessa Marshall, the voice of Hera Syndulla. She’s a big Star Wars fan herself and if she saw you on the street wearing a Star Wars shirt, she’d strike up a conversation with you. So she is cool.

She did tell a funny story about Jason Isaacs. As the actors record their voices together, Jason plays mini golf in between saying his lines. 

IMG_4742 IMG_4745 IMG_4743

Constantine
Saturday, October 11|6:30-7:30|Empire Stage

We stayed to watch the pilot. It was good and so scary. I watched most of it between my fingers. I can’t say much about the Q&A that followed. I know nothing of the comic book lore, and never saw the movie with Keanu Reeves. Here are a couple of photos.

IMG_4763 IMG_4766

By this time we were starving. So we met up with some friends and got a late dinner.

Leave a Reply

