Book Con – May 31, 2014

Image

Yesterday my friends and I went to Book Con. Originally, back in February, we had bought tickets to Book Expo America Power Reader Day. BEA is for people in the industry and book bloggers, but Power Reader Day is open to the public. Only this year ReedPop bought PRD and turned into Book Con. We were issued new tickets and our event was separated from the BEA events in the Javits Center. Ridiculous if you ask me, but I still had a great time.

Stared out the morning when it opened at 9am on the show floor, picking up whatever free books they were giving out. I only roamed around for an hour so I didn’t pick up much. The Book Con corner of the Javits Center was quite crammed and disorganized.

I did manage to get:
The Prophet, by Michael Koryta
The Family Hightower, by Brian Francis Slattery (It is an advanced uncorrected proof)
Interview With the Vampire, by Anne Rice (20th Anniversary Edition)

There were also a couple of samplers too.


Image

The rest of the day I spent in panels.
First there was:

Veronica Roth in Conversation with Alex London
11:00 am – 12:00 pm
Location: Special Events Hall
Speakers: Alex London, Veronica Roth

Description:
To celebrate the upcoming release of FOUR (July 8) — a companion volume set in the Divergent world that includes stories told from Tobias’s point of view — #1 New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth chats with Alex London, author of PROXY and GUARDIAN (May 29). Hear the authors dish about the dystopian worlds they’ve created, the characters that inhabit the pages of their novels and much more! 

Alex and Veronica were a delight. It was funny and I was happy that they managed to describe their books without spoilers. I had seen and spoke with Alex London the previous Sunday at Books of Wonder. (I know I said I would do a post about it, but I didn’t get around to it yet. I’ll combine it with my review of Guardian.) He’s a very sweet and personable guy.

I did not realize how young Veronica is. She seemed like a really cool person too and it was great to hear them both talk. Alex also made Veronica a cookie. Now I am not sure if he made it? Whatever, he gave her a cookie. There was an on-going food theme throughout the talk.

The Q&A threw me off. I had walked up to ask Alex a question, only to discover that questions were submitted in writing. Where were these pieces of paper to submit?

Image

 

The Special Events Hall will be cleared after each Panel. Fans can line up no earlier than one hour before each Panel begins.

While I understand why they cleared the room after each panel (so people would not spent the whole day in there for “Fault in Our Stars”, thus giving no one else a chance to see earlier panels) it was super annoying to exit the room to get back at THE END OF THE LINE for the next panel. Luckily, my sister and friend saved me a seat. Also, I found out during Alex and Veronica’s panel that a line was starting for 3:30 pm – 4:30 pm, The Fault in Our Stars; Location: Special Events Hall. They spent a whole day on line for a single panel.

So I make it in the Special Events Hall again and they had strawberry fortune cookies on our seats to promote Amy Poehler’s new book. It was delicious. My fortune said: “Leave as soon as someone starts treating you bad.”

Wise. I wish I had been a winner of a signed copy of her book, Yes, Please.

Amy Poehler in Conversation with Martin Short
12:30 pm – 1:30 pm
Location: Special Events Hall
Speakers: Amy Poehler, Martin Short

Description:
Join Amy Poehler and Martin Short in this once in a lifetime event as they discuss their careers and offer a sneak peek of their books coming out this fall!

They spoke more about Amy’s career and book than Martin’s. It was more like he was interviewing her. They were hysterical though. I especially laughed when Amy told the story of when she was having her first child. I can’t ever retell it the way Amy did and can never make you laugh like she could. Go search for the video on youtube for that. Basically, her OBGYN, who also had delivered Sofia Loren’s children, had died two days before she was about to deliver. She was on the set of SNL when she found out and started crying. Jon Hamm, who was hosting SNL that week, told Amy, ‘This is my first time hosting. This is a big deal for me. Don’t screw it up.’ She quickly went from crying to laughing.

They also spoke about social media and how they are not on it. They both made excellent points. Martin said he would feel pressure to be funny with every tweet.
Amy said gone are the days when photos were just for you and a few close family/friends in a album. Now it all about the instant gratification of many people seeing your photos. It is not about the memory and the feelings they remind you of, but ‘look at me and where I am.’

Image

Of course spending the day in panels, and queuing up for panels, I had to sacrifice some events.

11:15 am – 12:15 pm
My First Novel: Things I Wish Someone Had Told Me About Writing, Publishing and Promoting a Book

11:45 am – 12:30 pm
General Literature Trivia
Location: Downtown Stage
^That one hurt to miss. I love trivia!

1:00 pm – 2:00 pm
Epic Storytelling with Holly Black, Cassandra Clare and Maggie Stiefvater

This World and Beyond: A Conversation about Fiction and Fantasy with Deborah Harkness and Lev Grossman
2:00 pm – 3:00 pm
Location: Room 1E02
Speakers: Deborah Harkness, Lev Grossman, Tina Jordan

Description:
Join bestselling authors Deborah Harkness (The Book of Life; July 15) and Lev Grossman (The Magician’s Land; August 5) as they discuss the process of completing a trilogy, writing fantasy for an adult audience and how the genre has changed over the last decade. Moderated by Entertainment Weekly Senior Editor Tina Jordan, the conversation will be followed by a wine and cheese reception.

This was a good panel. Though, Lev has to work on his public speaking skills. WAY TOO MANY “uuummmm” after every word, practically. *Shaking my head* I never read his books so much of what he said went over my head. The constant “uuummmm” didn’t help.

Really, I was there for Deborah. She spoke so well, and I am not surprised. She IS a History Professor, after all.

She spoke about her writing process and mixing supernatural elements with history. Matthew was almost Michael, but then she made his name Matthew so it could fit with Matthew Roydon in <i>Shadow of Night</i>. She said something about it seeming like Matthew is the Forrest Gump of vampires because he knew all these historical famous people. LOL. But not much is known about Matthew Roydon. There is so much mystery surrounding him, so when writing her story it was plausible to make Matthew Roydon a vampire.

I wish I had taken notes. There were so many great things said and it is all jumbled in my head now. All I can say is I loved hearing her speak and I am so excited for Book of Life in July.

After sister and I got some wine and cheese and then queued up to speak with Deborah.
Sister told her she reading these books about London, and whenever Christopher Marlowe is mentioned she has to scoff. Deborah said the most of the time the smartest people are not the nicest.

I asked about her upcoming book tour. I did not remember at the time, but the day the book comes out, July 15, while she will be at a NYC B&N signing, sis and I already have tickets to a play. I need a time-turner.

We did get a photo with her and she signed the pocket-books they handed out. She is very nice a pleasure to talk to.

Image

Image

My plan was to TRY to get into the 3:30 pm – 4:30 pm The Fault in Our Stars panel. When I was in Deborah’s panel my friend texted me that they closed the line for TFIOS. So, I went for plan B:
4:15 pm – 5:15 pm
Dystopian Futures: Are They Science-Fact-or-Fiction?
Location: Room 1E07
Speakers: Alaya Dawn Johnson, Danielle Paige , Marie Lu, Veronica Roth

Description:
Science-Fiction and Fantasy Authors know how to keep protagonists on their toes and readers at the edge of their seats! Their stories of other worlds and dystopian futures may be filled with magic and mayhem, hi-tech terrors, heroes and villains, but the haunting parallels between our world and the fictional worlds they’ve created is what really keeps us up at night. With Veronica Roth (DIVERGENT Series) moderating, join Authors Alaya Dawn Johnson (THE SUMMER PRINCE), Danielle Paige (DOROTHY MUST DIE) and Marie Lu (LEGEND Series) as they discuss the inspiration behind their action-packed novels, the fantastical elements they deploy and more!

That line was also at capacity, because Veronica Roth was moderating.

So, my sister, cousin and I just sat down and relaxed. We waited for my friend, who was in Jason Segel’s panel. When she joined us, we waited for my other friends who did make into Dystopian Futures. I would have liked to go back to the show floor, but they closed it at 3:00.

I’d say Book Con 2014 was a success, all in all. I got to see the top three panels I wanted to, got some free books, and had a great time with the people I was with.

 

One thought on “Book Con – May 31, 2014

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Family Hightower by Brian Francis Slattery | Stephanie

Leave a Reply

